Ice Cats Claim Championship for Second Season in a Row

The 2016-17 Saint Ignatius ice hockey team has accomplished a feat no other Wildcats’ hockey team had before – win back-to-back OHSAA State Championships.

The Ice Cats defeated Toledo St. Francis on Sunday in Nationwide Arena, 5-1, to claim the crown for the fifth time in program history.

The Wildcats’ win came after an emotionally draining, triple overtime win over University School on Saturday evening in Columbus. But the Ice Cats dug deep, started strong with an early goal, and hung on for the victory.

The senior class stands as the winningest in school history with an incredible 129 wins, 3 state titles, and 3 Cleveland Cup Championships. Senior Matt Wiegandt earned 2016-17 All-Ohio Player of the Year honors, with fellow seniors Connor Koehnke (first team), Andrew Zedella (second-team), and Seth Whitney (honorable mention) also receiving All-Ohio recognition.

For a full story on the state championship and the 2016-17 Ice Cats, click here.

The Saint Ignatius community will honor Coach Pat O’Rourke ’90 and the hockey team at the spring sports rally on Thursday at 2 p.m. in Sullivan Gym. Congratulations to the Ice Cats on a spectacular season!